EALA representatives selection process begins

Published by Théophile Niyitegeka
On 10 May 2017 saa 12:41
Views :
47 2

The National Electoral Commission (NEC) has released a list of 11 candidates competing to represent Rwanda in the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA).

NEC announced that initial voting will be held on 11th May 2017 where each section will have two representatives to be joined by candidates from political parties.

Candidates from National Women Council include Uwumukiza Françoise, Uwamariya Velentine, Nyiransabimana Florence, Nyiransabimana Mediatrice and Murekatete Henriette Theophille.

Candidates from National Council of Persons with Disabilities(NCPD) includeTumusiime Sharon working in HVP Gatagara and advisor in Nyanza district and coordinator of NCPD in the district; NasiforoMukarwegoBeth , lecturer at the University of Rwanda , College of Education , and Bahati Alex , an entrepreneur.

The National Youth Council is represented by Barimuyabo Jean Claude who was in 2015 elected to lead the association of youth members of FPR-Inkotanyion national level; Beneyo Jessica andIngabire Linda.

Elections timetable

Selection for women representatives, youth and disabled people will be held on 11th May 2017 at 9:00 hours, youth at Rwanda Revenue Authority headquarters in Kimihurura, women at La Palissehotel in Nyandungu while disabled people will hold selections at Hill Top Hotel inRemera.

Elections outcomes will be announced not later than 15th May.

Rwanda has nine representatives in EALA as required by laws and agreements establishing East African Community. EALA legislators are elected for a five year term renewable once.

FPR Inkotanyiwith other political parties affiliated to it have four representatives while Liberal Party , Social Democratic Party ,youth, women and disabled people have one representative each.

Existing representation in EALA

RPF already had MP Martin Ngoga,Hajabakiga Mugorenejo Patricia,Rwigema Pierre CéléstinandOdaGasinzigwa as EALA representatives. PL is represented by Odette Nyiramirimo, PSD by Dr. François Xavier Kalinda, youth represented by Ndikuryayo Straton, women by Nyirahabineza Valérie while disabled people were represented by Dr. James Ndahiro.

The list of selected candidates will be presented to parliament on 17th May 2017 to select nine qualified contenders who will represent Rwanda in EALA in the next five years after swearing in on 5th June 2017 in Arusha, Tanzania.

JPEG - 114 kb
From left: MP Valerie Nyirahabineza, James Ndahiro, Patricia Hajabakiga, Odette Nyiramilimo and Straton Ndikuryayo having served two terms in EALA.