Oda Gasinzigwa sworn in, joins EALA

Published by Théophile Niyitegeka
On 22 October 2016 saa 05:00
Views : 120
0 0

Oda Gasinzigwa who was recently elected to replace Christophe Bazivamo in East African Legislative Assembly and Jean Marie Vianney form Burundi have been sworn in.

As announced by EALA, the swearing in ceremony was held on Thursday afternoon at the headquarters in Arusha Tanzania where their oaths were administered by the EALA President, Daniel Kidega.

Oda Gasinzigwa is a former Minister of Gender and Family Promotion (MIGEPROF), elected on Wednesday with 71 votes against Kanamugire Callixte’s 4 votes during the General Assembly that brought together 24 senators and 52 MPs.

Gasinzigwa has replaced Christophe Bazivamo who recently resigned and will finalize the five year term Bazivamo started in 2012 to end in June, 2017.

Jean Marie Muhirwa joined EALA replacing Burundi’s Hafsa Mossi assassinated on 13th July, 2016 in Bujumbura city.

Muhirwa was a senator from Burundi’s political party in power, CNDD-FDD.

RPF Inkotanyi have four representatives in EALA while PL, PSD political parties, youth, the disabled people and women have one representative each.

Other RPF representatives are; Martin Ngoga, Hajabakiga Mugorenejo Patricia and Rwigema Pierre Céléstin. PL is represented by Odette Nyiramirimo; PSD by Dr. Francois Xavier Kalinda, the youth represented by Ndikuryayo Straton, women represented by Nyirahabineza Valerie while disabled people are represented by Dr. James Ndahiro.