Rwanda rejoins CEEAC

Published by Théophile Niyitegeka
On 21 August 2016 saa 01:37
Views : 432
0 0

Rwanda has returned to Economic Community of Central African States (CEEAC) and becomes the 11th member state after nine years it had pulled from the community.

In a visit the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Louise Mushikiwabo held in Libreville, capital city of Gabon yesterday, she handed to the general secretary of CEEAC, Ahmad Allami-Mi the letter requesting to return to this community.

Minister Mushikiwabo announced that Rwanda returns to CEEAC after requesting to rejoin the community for one year.

“We are happy to return to CEEAC. We are here to fill provisions of laws. The reality is that Rwanda has come back to the region,” she said.

CEEAC was established in 1983 with the aim of ensuring a united Central Africa. In 2007, Rwanda pulled from the community.

Mushikiwabo and Allami-Mi discussed challenges facing the region especially member states of CEEAC including election related matters and terrorism.

Ahmad Allami-Mi showed Mushikiwabo some of major projects the secretary of CEEAC is preparing to present to heads of member states.

These include a project of easing trade among CEEAC member states and Africa in general starting from January, 2017 and connecting interaction between CEEAC and Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC).

CEEAC is preparing to launch talks aimed at easing trade between Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and CENSAD - The Community of Sahel-Saharan States among other activities of restoring peace and security, protecting environment, reforming the structure of and leadership of CEEAC among others.

Mushikiwabo expressed satisfaction over these projects and promised that the government of Rwanda commitment to CEEAC.

In October last year, Ahmad Allam-Mi came to Rwanda where he was received by President Paul Kagame in Village Urugwiro.

Ahmad Allam-Mi said that Rwanda will bring positive transformations and become a model in good governance and conflict resolution when it returns to CEEAC.

CEEAC main objectives are promoting cooperation and development related to economy and welfare in sectors like industries, transport, telecommunication, energy, agriculture, natural resources, monetary policy, tourism and education among others.

Rwanda becomes the first member state of CEEAC using English as official language. It joins Angola, Burundi, Cameroun, Central Africa Republic, Congo, Gabon, Equatorial Guinea, Democratic Republic of Congo, Tchad, Sao Tome & Principe.