Senator Mucyo laid to rest

Published by Théophile Niyitegeka
On 7 October 2016 saa 12:45
Views : 918
0 0

Senator Mucyo Jean de Dieu who passed on Monday this week has been laid to rest at Rusororo graveyard during a funeral attended by different government officials, co-workers, friends and relatives.

The burial has been preceded by tributes to the late senator. His body was picked from King Faisal Hospital in Kacyiru, taken home and later at the senate building for last tributes and public viewing.

Tributes from the senate have been followed by a mass celebrated by Bishop Philippe Rukamba at Regina Pacis from where the body was transported to Rusororo cemetery for burial.

The First lady, Jeannette Kagame, joined mourners to pay last tribute in a mass held at Regina Pacis parish in Remera.

Around 16:30, the body was taken to Rusororo cemetery where more than five thousand people gathered for the funeral.The death of senator Mucyo shocked the nation as it was so sudden. He has been described as a man of peace who always strove for kind acts and committed to fulfilling his responsibilities.

The Catholic Church Bishop, Philippe Rukamba along with other clerics, prayed for the deceased. Bishop Rukamba interceded for the deceased to Rest In Peace.

Senator Mucyo Jean de Dieu reported on duty for the last time on 1st October 2016, which was the National Patriotism Day as the reconciliation week was launched.

He has been a senator for slightly over a year.

The late was born on December 7th 1961 in Nyanza district of Southern Province. He was the son of Mucyowintore Thomas and Uzanyamaberuka Marciana who died when the later was in secondary school.

Executed duties

1980-1985: Pay Master Ministry of Justice

1991-1994: UNICEF and DAF

1994-2003: Military officer, retired at the rank of Captain

1995-1999: Director in MINIJUST and judge in military court

1999-2003: Minister of Justice

2003-2006: The Prosecutor General 2006-2007: Head of Commission on the involvement of French in 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi

2008 - 2015: Executive Secretary of CNLG

May 2015- up to 3rd October, 2016: Senator