Three join parliament, Nyandwi replaced

Published by Théophile Niyitegeka
On 28 October 2016 saa 08:46
Views : 162
0 0

The National Electoral Commission (NEC) has replaced three parliamentarians including Nyandwi Désiré, who died recently on Friday 14th October, 2016.

The statement issued by NEC indicates that the decision is based on article 78 of Rwanda’s constitution of 4th June, 2003 as amended in 2015. It also based on the article 106 of the law number 27/2010 of 19th June, 2010 granting elections as amended to date.

Following the request from the president of the parliamentary chamber of deputies, NEC has replaced MP Nyandwi who passed on, MP Nyirasafari Esperance who was appointed Minister of Gender and Family promotion and MP Mureshyankwano Marie Rose who was appointed the Governor of Southern Province.

The three MPs were replaced by Karinijabo Barthelemy, Mukamana Elisabeth and Bitunguramye Diogene who followed them of election list of 2013.

The organic law granting the performance of parliamentarians stipulates that when ‘ a parliamentarian loses or is removed from duty, his/her position is supposed to be handed to the contestant who followed him/her during previous votes to finalize the rest of term if it takes more than a year’.

On the other hand, other parliamentarians appointed without passing through votes are supposed to be replaced through new votes.

JPEG - 30.1 kb
Late MP Nyandwi Désiré