Uhuru takes early lead but Nasa chiefs dismiss results as ‘a sham’

Published by IGIHE
On 9 August 2017 saa 03:43
Views : 492
0 0

President Uhuru Kenyatta last night took an early lead with more than half the votes counted, according to reports from Kenya as challenger RailaOdinga disputed the results being released by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission.
At around 3:00 am, President Kenyatta was leading with just over six million votes to Mr. Odinga’s 5 million.

That totaled to some 11.4 million votes out of 19.6 million registered voters, giving Mr. Kenyatta 55 per cent and Mr. Odinga 44 per cent of the votes cast.

Addressing a press conference after a meeting with the electoral commissioners at the National Tallying Centre at the Bomas of Kenya, Nasa campaign managers MusaliaMudavadi and James Orengo complained that the results being released on the IEBC Online portal were a ‘fraud’ because they were not accompanied by copies of the original result forms from the 34 ‘A’ and 34 ‘B’ from the polling stations and the constituency tallying centres.

Mr. Odinga also called a press conference at the Nasa offices in Westlands to reinforce the demands from his campaign managers at Bomas, saying that there was no evidence showing that the results being streamed were based on the actual count from the polling stations and the constituency tallies.

it is reported that he dismissed the results as a sham, fictitious and fake.

However, the electoral commissioners had earlier addressed the press and insisted that all the results being uploaded were the exact results transmitted from the polling stations without any changes.

Earlier, the Commissioners had been holed up in a meeting with party agents at the National Tallying Centre as concerns soared over a delay in the transmission of results from the polling stations.

President Uhuru Kenyatta took an early lead with 6,331,140 votes representing 55 per cent of the 9,865,990 votes from 26, 279 of the 40,883 polling stations counted by 12.30am.

National Super Alliance’s RailaOdinga was second with 5,031,737 votes representing 44 per cent of those counted.

Independent candidate Joseph Nyaga followed at a distance with 24,158, Alliance for Real Change’s Mohammed Abduba had 17,245, the Third Alliance of Kenya’s EkuruAukot 17,022, Independent candidate Japheth Kaluyu 7,221, United Democratic Party’s Cyrus Jirongo 6,940 votes and Independent candidate Michael Wainaina 5,363.