Public-holiday craze strains businessmen

By IGIHE
On 29 August 2017 at 04:30

The business community and some of the traders are calling for a complete rethink over the country’s public holiday schedule, following the Umuganura holiday that was shifted on Monday, August 28th on top of the upcoming Friday Muslim holiday in space of one week.
Some of the traders in Kigali that have been interviewed by IGIHE are calling for a rethink on public holiday schedules. One of them is Moses Kalisa a trader in Kigali who thinks those concerned need to rethink about the holiday (...)

The business community and some of the traders are calling for a complete rethink over the country’s public holiday schedule, following the Umuganura holiday that was shifted on Monday, August 28th on top of the upcoming Friday Muslim holiday in space of one week.

Some of the traders in Kigali that have been interviewed by IGIHE are calling for a rethink on public holiday schedules. One of them is Moses Kalisa a trader in Kigali who thinks those concerned need to rethink about the holiday schedules because it is impacting on the private sector.

“To me as a businessman, public holidays cost me in lost sales and productivity. I believe that authorities need to rethink so that people go to work because the economy suffers if people don’t work.”

Kalisa personally disagrees with the issue of shifting a public holidays from weekends to another working day. He proposed that if a public holiday falls on a Sunday, it should be celebrated thus without shifting.

“Losing two days of business – as is the case for this week – can put added strain on many businesses. We all need a break from work, but not incessantly,” another businessman who prefers not to be named said.

“We’re seeing an increasing number of holidays altogether –some of our companies now don’t give our staff the extra days off in lieu. However, this might now work for some of us because, at the end of it all, we have to pay them when the month ends.”
Over 17 public holidays are scheduled.

  • List of official Holidays in Rwanda this year:
  • Sunday 1-Jan News Years Day
  • Monday 2-Jan Day after New Years Day Holiday by Presidential Order
  • Wednesday 1-Feb National Heroes Day
  • Friday 7-Apr Genocide against the Tutsi Memorial Day
  • Friday 14-Apr Good Friday Friday before Easter Sunday
  • Monday 17-Apr Easter Monday
  • Monday 1-May Labor Dya
  • Sunday 25-Jun Eid UI Fitr End of Ramadhan
  • Monday 26-Jun Eid UI Fitr Holiday
  • Saturday 1-Jul Independence Day Holiday
  • Friday 4-Aug Umuganura Day First Friday in August
  • Tuesday 15-Aug Assumption of Mary Sacrifice Feast
  • Friday 1-Sep Eid El Haj
  • Monday 25-Dec Christmas Day
  • Tuesday 26-Dec Boxing Day

Advertisement

YOUR OPINION ABOUT THIS ARTICLE

RULES AND REGULATIONS

Kwamamaza