Handball: Police win Carre d’As to set straight record

Published by Police
On 16 October 2016 saa 12:51
Views : 162
0 0

The 2016 national handball league champions – Police – set its record high on Saturday to sum-up the season in style after lifting Carre d’As for the third year in a row.

Once again, Police overcame APR 41-35 scores on the finals played at Kimisagara youth centre, to maintain its record against the military side, which they beat in last weekend’s final match of the national league to also retain the trophy for the third successive season.

Carre d’As is an annual tournament that brings together top four teams in the national league.

Police, in the build up to the finals, overcame Nyakabanda with 35-18 goals with Police Constable (PC) Gilbert Mutuyimana and Jean Baptiste Habimana scoring the game high six goals each, while the run-ups APR had eliminated Kigoma on 33 goals to 25.

Alain Nkengurutse and Zackary Tuyishime were outstanding in the final match scoring 11 and eight goals, respectively to lead the law enforcers to their fifth Carre d’As title after winning it in 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2015.

“It was a memorable season that each player worked hard and really enjoyed,” assistant coach, Sgt Alphonse Udahemuka, said.

Police also officially received the national league trophy which they won last weekend after recording an unbeaten run season.

Meanwhile, PC Gilbert Mutuyimana was recognized at the best player of the season, Samuel Bananimana (Police) named the best goalkeeper, while Assistant Inspector of Police (AIP) Antoine Ntabanganyimana (Police) was also named the best coach of the season.

Police next week depart to Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso to represent Rwanda in the 38th edition of Africa Handball League that will be played between October 21 and 30.

The continental championship attracted a total of 10 clubs from Egypt, Tunisia, Rwanda, Cameroon, DR Congo, Congo Brazzaville, Morocco and hosts Burkina Faso.

Police which will be making their third appearance after their debut in 2012 and competing in 2015, is in group A alongside Esperance Sportive (Tunisia), Al Ahly (Egypt),Minuh (Cameroon) and Calman (Congo).

Others drawn in Group B are Zamalek (Egypt), Widad Smara (Morocco), FAP (Cameroon), JSK (DR Congo) and AS Douane (Burkina Faso).