Apple to expand App Store to Rwanda in 2020

On 26 March 2020 at 03:09

Apple has announced that in its latest expansion projects, it will provide license agreements allowing 20 more countries around the globe to have access to the App Store.

The App Store is an online store powered by Apple where users can download apps for iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, and Apple TV and have them installed on your iOS device.

currently, Apple offers its services only to 155 regions or countries around the world.

Rwandan developers said the upgrade will allow them to develop applications both for Android and iOS devices since they did not have the required licenses before.

Most applications developed in Rwanda are only compatible with Android devices. People in Rwanda who use Apple devices had to acquire an Apple ID from another country bu changing locations to have access to some applications.

Although no precise date was mentioned, Apple advised developers to update their information by April 10th, 2020.

Habineza Moussa, CEO of KHENZ, a software developing company said Rwanda was isolated when it came to developing applications compatible to iOS devices but that once they sign license agreements, the issue will be solved.

Habineza added that iOS users in Rwanda will be able to use mobile payment and digital wallet services via Apple Pay.

Apple is an American multinational technology company headquartered in California, that designs, develops, and sells consumer electronics, computer software, and online services.

Apart from Rwanda, 19 other countries will have access to the App Store including Afghanistan, Gabon, Côte d’Ivoire, Georgia, Maldives, Serbia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Cameroon, Iraq, Kosovo, Libya, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Tonga, Zambia, and Vanuatu.