Government clarifies on relocation of institutions to secondary cities

On 31 July 2019 at 09:31

The Cabinet meeting held on Monday chaired by President Paul Kagame approved the relocation of some public institutions to secondary cities.

Following the resolutions; Rwanda Agriculture Development Board (RAB), the Higher Education Council (HEC), the Institute of National Museums of Rwanda (INMR), the National Industrial and Research Development Agency (NIRDA), and the Workforce Development Authority (WDA), the branch of the University of Rwanda and Rwanda Academy of Language and Culture (RALC) are set to be moved to Huye District.

Muhanga District will be the home for the Rwanda Cooperatives Agency (RCA) and Rwanda Management Institute Rwanda (RMI).

Nyagatare will host a branch of the University of Rwanda while those to be relocated to Musanze District include the National Itorero Commission (NIC), the National Unity and Reconciliation Commission (NURC), and the Rwanda Demobilisation and Reintegration Commission (RDRC) added to an existing branch of the University of Rwanda in Busogo.

The National Rehabilitation Service (NRS) will be relocated to Karongi District, the Forestry Authority will be moved to Ngororero district while Rusizi will keep a branch of the University of Rwanda.

Speaking to journalists in a post-cabinet meeting yesterday, the Minister for Infrastructure, Claver Gatete said the relocation was based on the duties of these institutions and how they associate with host cities.

“For instance, Huye will host RAB, NIRDA, HEC, and WDA all related to education. Putting them together enables to complement one another. It is a cultural, historical and research place. Research in these domains cannot harmonize if they are far from concerned schools,” he said.

He explained that moving some institutions to other areas not part of secondary cities is meant to promote inclusive development.

“You cannot set up infrastructure in the same cities. The development needs to go beyond non-secondary cities,” said minister Gatete.

He said the relocation will spur economic growth in secondary cities in line with promoting inclusive development, improve services to citizens and reduce expenses whether these institutions operate in Government or rented private buildings.

Minister Gatete explained that an inspection is underway to analyze the terrain and requirements that first relocations shall take place in December this year.

The relocation is part of the resolutions of the 15th Leadership Retreat of 2018 aimed at supporting the development and expansion of secondary cities.

The six secondary cities include Musanze in Northern Province, Nyagatare in Eastern Province, Huye and Muhanga in Southern Province, and Rubavu and Rusizi in Western Province.

Minister Claver Gatete said that moving some institutions to other areas not part of secondary cities is meant to promote inclusive development.