Rwanda remembers politicians that opposed genocide ideology buried in Rebero

By Elina Jonas Ruzindaza
On 13 April 2020 at 06:38

On April 13 every year, Rwandans remember politicians who were killed at the beginning of the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi as they fought against hatred, injustice, dictatorship, discrimination and other heinous acts that culminated into the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi that left more than a million people dead.

The politicians buried at the Genocide Memorial in Rebero, Kigali City, were mostly members of the Revolutionary Movement for Development-MRND and other parties, that were opposed to the despotic rule of Juvenal Habyarimana. They were killed on April 7, 1994, when the genocide began.

They include; Joseph Kavaruganda, Landouard Ndasingwa, Kabageni Venantie, Charles Kayiranga, Jean de la Croix Rutaremara, Augustin Rwayitare, Aloys Niyoyita, and others.

Some of these groups of politicians

Joseph Kavaruganda was the President of the Constitutional Court. He fought against the ideology of Genocide until his assassination.

Kavaruganda was in charge of administering the oath of office of the head of state. He was assassinated on April 7.

Landouard Ndasingwa was the leader of the PL party. Also known as Lando, his wife, and two children were killed on April 7, 1994, in Remera by the president’s bodyguards.

André Kameya was a member of the PL and a journalist. He was killed in June 1994. His wife and child were killed in April 1994. He worked in ORINFOR and was the information officer in the Ministry of Justice. He was killed after launching a newspaper called Rwanda Rushya (New Rwanda).

Frederic Nzamurambaho was the President of PSD Party and the Minister of Agriculture. On April 7, 94, he was shot dead in front of his family by the president’s bodyguards.

Felicien Ngango was the Vice President of the PSD. He was killed for supporting the unity of Rwandans based on ethnic hatred.

Faustin Rucogoza was the Minister of Information from the MDR party. He and his wife were killed on April 7, 1994. In 1993 he dared to point out that RTLM was sowing hatred and to warn it, regardless of whether it belonged to the current regime.

Venantie Kabageni was in the PL party. She was assassinated at the beginning of the Genocide because she was known to oppose the functioning of the Habyarimana regime.

Augustin Rwayitare was a member of the PL Party. He was killed in the Genocide because of his intolerance of the government that sowed hatred.

Jean de La Croix Rutaremara was a politician who opposed Habyarimana’s ideas of inciting hatred and division.

Jean Baptiste Mushimiyimana was a member of the PSD. He was killed for opposing Habyarimana’s government.

Charles Kayiranga was a PL politician who was killed in the Genocide for promoting democratic governance.

Aloys Niyoyita was a PL politician. Like others who opposed Habyarimana’s regime, it resulted in his assassination.

Many of the killed politicians belonged to the PL party, which was said to belong to the Tutsi. What’s more, they opposed the one who ruled it, Mugenzi Justin, who had already been immersed in the MRND’s ideology, and opted to do part of the PL-POWER.

In addition to these politicians, Agathe Uwilingiyimana, the former Prime Minister, is buried in the Heroes’ Lodge in Remera. This one is also remembered on this date.