Rwanda wins six medals during ‘Korean Ambassador’s Cup’ Taekwondo World Championship

On 17 December 2019 at 10:22

6 players of the Rwandan Taekwondo team have won five gold and one silver medals during the 2019 Korean Ambassador’s Cup Taekwondo World Championship that was held in Arusha, Tanzania on Sunday, December 15th, 2019.

The ‘Korean Ambassador’s Cup 2019’ is an annual competition that was for this year organized by Tanzania Taekwondo Federation in partnership with the Embassy of Korea in Tanzania.

The annual Taekwondo competition, sponsored by the South Korean Embassy in Kigali, attracted several athletes from different clubs across the East African Community (EAC) and The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

Rwanda won 5 gold medals from Uwababyeyi Delphine who plays in the ‘under 53kg’ category, Ndacyayisenga Aline who plays in the ‘Under 57kg’ category and Sekanyambo Jean-Paul who plays in the ‘Under 58kg’ category.

Munyakazi Vincent who plays in the ‘Under 74kg’ category and Mwemezi Cedric in the ‘Under 87kg’ also won gold medals while Kayitare Benoit in the ‘Under 63kg’ category won a silver medal.

In general, Rwanda won third place in the competition based on the addition of all medals won by individual players.

Rwandans also won the most valuable player (MVP) award in the women’s team from Uwababyeyi Delphine, the best trainer from Bagire Allain Irene and best referee from Mushambokazi Zura.

Concluding the competition, the Ambassador of Korea in Tanzania commended the contribution of Rwanda in the organization of the competition where Rwanda Taekwondo Federation lent scoring equipment for counting points during the competition and staff to operate them.

Rwanda Taekwondo Federation will land in Kigali on Tuesday, December 17th, 2019.
Taekwondo players will immediately return to their respective teams as they prepare for the annual ‘Gorilla Open Taekwondo Championships’ held in Kigali from December 20th to December 22nd, 2019.

Rwanda won third place in the competition based on the addition of all medals won by individual players.