APR FC claims the 2017/18 Azam Rwanda Premier League Title

On 28 June 2018 at 08:00

APR FC yesterday claimed the 2017/18 Azam Rwanda Premier League after a magnificent 2-0 win over Espoir FC at Stade Amahoro.

Goals from Aimable Nsabimana and Muhadjiri Hakizimana cemented a record-extending 17th league title for the military side in just 24 years – since their maiden title in 1995.

APR FC went into the final match of the season battling the league title alongside AS Kigali. Both sides were separated by three points with APR FC sitting on top of the league summit going into the final match of the season.

With AS Kigali held to a 1-1 draw by Musanze FC at Stade Ubworoherane in Musanze District, APR FC beat the former by five points, going to 66 while AS Kigali was on 61 points.

The military side climaxed the season having won 19 matches, drawing 9 and losing 2 along the way. The team also scored 51 goals and only conceded 15 goals in 30 matches respectively.

It is worth noting that the military side had previously won 1995, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015 and 2016 editions of Rwanda premier league.

Meanwhile, Rayon Sports and Etincelles joined AS Kigali in the top four. Rayon Sports were held to a 2-2 draw by Marines FC while Etincelles’ 1-0 win over Gicumbi FC relegated the Northern Province club to next year’s second division league.

Gicumbi FC was joined by Miroplast Fc who lost 1-2 to Sunrise FC on the final day of the season. The pair will be replaced by Intare FC and AS Muhanga who are finalists in the 2017/18 Second division league which will climax on July 4 at Amahoro Stadium.

AS Kigali’s Burundian Jean Claude Ndarusanze ended the season leading the top scorer’s chart with 15 goals, followed by APR FC’s Muhadjiri Hakizimana who scored 13 goals and Musanze FC’s Wai Yeka and SC Kiyovu Sports’ Moustapha Francis who are both scored 11 goals each.

The crowning ceremony of the 2017/18 Azam Rwanda Premier League champions APR FC will be held at a yet to be announced date and avenue.

APR FC will next year represent Rwanda at the CAF Champions League for the 2018/2019 season.

Azam Rwanda Premier League Results

Gicumbi FC 0-1 Etincelles FC
Police FC 3-1 Kirehe FC
Mukura VS 0-0 Bugesera
Espoir FC 0-2 APR FC
Sunrise FC 2-1 Miroplast FC
Amagaju FC 0-1 SC Kiyovu
Marines FC 2-2 Rayon Sports FC
Musanze FC 1-1 AS Kigali

APR FC claims the 2017/18 Azam Rwanda Premier League Title