Team Rwanda to compete in 2018 Grand Prix Chantal Biya race announced

On 20 September 2018 at 09:00

Jean Bosco Nsengimana, the winner of Tour du Rwanda 2016 will be among five riders who will represent Team Rwanda in the upcoming 2018 “Grand Prix Chantal Biya” 2018 cycling race to be held from September 26-30, 2018 in Cameroon.

The International Cycling Union (UCI) 2.2 level cycling competition “Grand Prix Chantal Biya” to be held for the 18th time, since 2001, will see the riders from 10 teams, among them three from Cameroon, peddling through five stages on a total distance of 699 kilometers.

The list of cyclists to represent Rwanda in the tour was announced by the Rwanda Cycling Federation (FERWACY). Tactician Felix Sempoma will be in charge of the team during the competition.

The team comprises of among others Jean Bosco Nsengimana who won Tour du Rwanda 2015 and became the second Rwandan to win the tour since 2009 when it became international after Valens Ndayisenga who was the winner in the previous year.

The five-rider team also includes Bonaventure Uwizeyimana, the reigning winner of the race, Janvier Rugamba, Eric Manizabayo and Michel Uwiduhaye.

The Rwandan cyclists will fly to Cameroon on September 24, 2018, two days before the tournament kicks off.

In 2016, Nsengimana, 24, won the fourth stage of the tour when he clocked 4’09’’42’’’ on a distance of 169 kilometers. Nsengimana was then competing for the German Stradalli Bike Aid cycling club.

Team Rwanda emerged second best team behind Cameroon’s SNH Velo in 2016 while they had finished second behind Team Morocco in 2015, when they first participated in the annual race. Rwanda was not last year invited by the organizers.

The “Grand Prix Chantal Biya” cycling competition is organized by the Cameroonian Cycling Federation and chiefly sponsored by Chantal Biya, the wife of the President of Cameroon Paul Biya, hence the name.

Last year’s edition of Grand Prix Chantal Biya tour was won by the 26 year old Cameroonian, Clovis Kamzong who rides for SNH Velo Club.

Stages of 2018 Grand Prix Chantal Biya race:

• September 26, Stage 1: Douala –Douala( 92km)
• September 27, Stage 2: Yaoundé –Nanga-Eboko (152km)
• September 28, Stage 3: Yaoundé – Ebolowa (151 km)
• September 29, Stage 4: Sangmélima – Meyomessala (134 km)
• September 30, Stage 5: Sangmélima – Yaoundé (170 km)