Fresh blood in Kigali City Council as Rubingisa, Mpabwanamaguru bow out

On 15 December 2023 at 06:26

On December 14, Kigali City witnessed a significant change in leadership as Pudence Rubingisa and Merard Mpabwanamaguru exited their roles as members of the City Council. The shift was confirmed by the Prime Minister’s statement, which also introduced fresh faces to the Council.

Merard Mpabwanamaguru, formerly the Vice Mayor in Charge of Urbanisation and Infrastructure, concluded his tenure as a member of the City Council.

The city’s Executive Committee, comprising the Mayor and Vice Mayors overseeing Urbanisation and Infrastructure, as well as Socio-Economic Affairs, also holds membership in the city council.

Rubingisa, former Mayor of the City of Kigali, bid farewell to his position and assumed the role of the new Governor of Eastern Province, as per an announcement from the Office of the Prime Minister.

This transition followed the arrest of Emmanuel Gasana, the previous provincial governor facing charges related to abuse of office.

The Prime Minister’s statement also introduced two new members to the Council of the City of Kigali - Samuel Dusengiyumva and Solange Ayanone. A subsequent tweet from City Hall confirmed their appointments, signaling a comprehensive reshuffling of the city’s leadership.

With these changes, only one member of the city’s Executive Committee remains in the Council—Urujeni Martine, the Vice Mayor in charge of Socio-Economic Affairs.

The Council of the City of Kigali, responsible for decision-making, strategy formulation, and issuing directives, plays a pivotal role in guiding the city’s development strategies, budget, and execution.

The departure of Mpabwanamaguru from the city council signifies his removal from the executive committee, as council membership is a prerequisite for committee involvement. Consequently, new elections are imminent to select leaders to fill the vacancies left by the exits of Rubingisa and Mpabwanamaguru.

Presently, Kigali City boasts 11 councilors: Dr. Kayihura Muganga Didas, Nishimwe Marie Grace, Baguma Rose, Bizimana Hamiss, Kajeneri Mugenzi Christian, Muhutu Gilbert, Urujeni Martine, Rutera Rose, Umutesi Geraldine, Samuel Dusengiyumva, and Solange Ayanone.

Rubingisa assumed the role of Kigali City Mayor in August 2019, becoming the 10th person to hold this position after the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi. On the other hand, Mpabwanamaguru was elected Kigali City Vice Mayor in Charge of Urbanization and Infrastructure in August 2021.

Spanning 730 square kilometers, Kigali City is home to 1,745,555 people, constituting 13.2% of the country’s total population, with a population density of 2390 people per square kilometer.

Historically, Kigali’s roots date back between 8000 and 3000 BC, evolving from the creation of the country of Gasabo, which later expanded to form present-day Rwanda. The city itself, founded in 1907 by German Richard Kandt, has a 116-year history marked by gradual infrastructure development.

Since 1975, Kigali City has been led by 12 mayors, including Francois Karera (1975-1990), Col Renzaho Tharcisse (1990-1994), Rose Kabuye (post-Genocide), Protais Musoni (1997-1999), Marc Kabandana (1999-2001), Théoneste Mutsindashyaka (2001-2006), Aissa Kirabo Kacyira (2006-2011), Fidèle Ndayisaba (2011-2016), Monique Mukaruliza (2016), Pascal Nyamulinda (2017-2018), Marie Chantal Rwakazina (2018-2019), and Pudence Rubingisa (2019-2023).

Solange Ayanone has joined Kigali City councilors.
Samuel Dusengiyumva was also named member of Kigali City council.
Merard Mpabwanamaguru has been serving as Kigali City Vice Mayor in Charge of Urbanisation and Infrastructure.
Rubingisa assumed the role of Kigali City Mayor in August 2019, becoming the 10th person to hold this position after the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi.