Police announce seven-hour traffic disruption ahead of Saturday’s Sprint Rally

By Wycliffe Nyamasege
On 29 March 2024 at 06:25

The National Police has announced a seven-hour traffic disruption ahead of the Sprint Rally 2024 scheduled for Saturday, March 30.

In a traffic advisory issued on Friday, the police stated that Akabuga ka Musha (Murrum road)-Gisenyi center-Mubuga-Agahozo-Ntunga will be temporarily closed from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm to pave the way for the event.

Road users plying the route have been urged to exercise caution and cooperate with traffic officers on site during the rally.

“We would like to inform the public that due to the ’Sprint Rally 2024’ scheduled for tomorrow, on 30th March 2024, the road: Akabuga ka Musha (Murrum road)-Gisenyi center-Mubuga-Agahozo-Ntunga, will be temporarily closed from 1000hrs to 1700hrs,” the notice reads in part.

“We request road users to bear with these changes. Traffic officers will be on the road to direct traffic flow.”

The rally, organized by the Rwanda Automobile Club (RAC), will see at least 10 drivers battle it out for the ultimate prize, which includes a trophy and points to participate in the motorsport championship.

The drivers are Yoto Isheja Butera, who will be driving a Subaru Impreza; Kalimpinya Ngabo (Subaru Impreza); Mitraros Paganin (Subaru Impreza); Giancarlo Damien Bernard (Mitsubishi Evo X); Kanangire Mujiji (Subaru Impreza); Gakwaya Mugabo (Subaru Impreza); and Semana Hakizimana (Peugeot 205GTI).

Others are Sekamana Muhire, Ssozi Birwinyo, and Murengezi Habuwera, all driving Subaru Imprezas.

The previous event, the Rwanda Mountain Gorilla Rally, was held in Bugesera in September 2022. Kenyan driver Karan Patel was crowned the winner of the rally, with Zambia’s Leroy Gomes finishing second.

Gomes was poised to win the race after claiming the top spot in Leg One race with a 20-second advantage ahead of Patel, but the Kenyan bounced back to win Leg Two race in the dusty roads of Nemba, Kamabuye, and Gako to win the championship in style.

The Kenyan, who was driving a Ford Fiesta R5 with his co-driver Khan Tauseef, won the rally after racing a total of 171.29km in 01 hour 19 minutes and 40.3 seconds.