Fifty sectors put under lockdown

On 27 July 2021 at 10:36

The Government of Rwanda has placed 50 sectors from 13 districts across the country under 14-day lockdown as part of ongoing measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

The communiqué signed by the Minister of Local Government, Jean Marie Vianney Gatabazi reads that the decision will take effect from 28th July through 10th August 2021.

The decision has been taken in consideration of health assessment on status of the pandemic in these sectors.

These sectors put under lockdown include 25 from Southern Province, 16 from Eastern Province, 6 from Western Province and 3 from Northern Province.

The Ministry of Local Government has reminded residents from these sectors to continue adhering to instituted COVID-19 containment measures.

“Farming activities will continue in adherence to COVID-19 preventive measures. Local leaders and security officials are requested to oversee the implementation of issued guidelines,” reads part of the communiqué.

List of sectors placed under lockdown:

Southern Province:

a. Ruhango district: Kinazi, Mbuye, Ntongwe, Ruhango, Byimana and Kinihira.

b. Muhanga district: Shyogwe, Kiyumba, Cyeza, Nyamabuye, Rugendabari, Muhanga and Mushishiro.

c. Nyamagabe district: Kamegeri, Kibumbwe, Gasaka and Mugano.

d. Huye district: Tumba, Kinazi and Gishamvu.

e. Nyanza district: Busoro, Mukingo, Kibilizi and Kigoma.

f. Nyaruguru district: Ngera.

Northern Province:

g. Rulindo district: Cyungo, Burega and Shyorongi.

Eastern Province:

h. Kayonza district: Mukarange, Mwiri, Gahini. Murundi,Rukara and Nyamirama.

i. Bugesera district: Rilima. Juru, Nyamata, Ruhuha and Shyara.

j. Gatsibo district: Imirenge ya Muhura, Kageyo, Remera, Kabarore and Murambi.

Western Province

k. Nyamasheke district: Nyabitekeri, Shangi and Bushenge.

l. Rusizi district: Nyakabuye and Gitambi.

m. Karongi: Murambi.

The decision follows existing stringent measures where the Government extended the lockdown imposed in Kigali City and eight districts from 27th through 31st July 2021.

The eight districts concerned with the decision include Burera, Gicumbi, Kamonyi, Musanze, Nyagatare, Rubavu, Rwamagana and Rutsiro.

The 10-day lockdown (from 17th till 26th July 2021) extended for five days on Sunday was initially imposed by the virtual cabinet meeting held on Wednesday 14th July 2021 to prevent the spread of COVID-19 pandemic which has been on steady rise.

Cyungo in Rulindo district is among sectors put under lockdown.