Rwanda joins International Wheelchair Basketball Federation

On 29 January 2021 at 03:41

Rwanda has emerged among four countries that have been approved members of the International Wheelchair Basketball Federation (IWBF).

African countries approved to join the federation include Rwanda, Liberia and Ethiopia.

Malta has also been accepted as an IWBF member by the organisation’s Executive Council.

Ethiopia, Rwanda, and Liberia become the newest additions to the IWBF Africa Zone, whilst Malta becomes the latest member of the European Zone.

New member states were announced in a statement released on 27th January 2021.

Commenting on the development; IWBF President, Ulf Mehrens said: “It is always a pleasure to add new members to the IWBF family, but it is even more so given the challenging circumstances the world is facing. It is especially encouraging to see further engagement in the Africa Zone, an area we are focussing on, and is testament to the great work being done by the Zone”.

“We would like to welcome all four into the wheelchair basketball family and we look forward to working with them as they not only progress and develop the sport within their countries but showcase and drive social inclusion,” he added.

All four have been approved by the IWBF Executive Council bringing the total number of IWBF members up to ninety-five (95) with the Africa Zone now boasting 14 member countries and the Europe Zone 35.

Other countries in IWBF Africa Zone include Algeria, Angola, Burkina Faso, Central African Republic, Egypt, Kenya, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa and Uganda.

Wheelchair Basketball was inaugurated in Rwanda on 31st May 2018 while the Wheelchair Basketball Federation was officially launched on 3rd February 2020.

Three teams participating in WheelChair Basketball championships include Musanze, Gasabo and Bugesera in men’s category while women’s category is represented by Gasabo and Kicukiro teams.