Ten racers from Rwanda, Uganda and Burundi for Rallye des Mille Collines Rally

On 25 November 2020 at 12:55

Legendary Rally drivers in Rwanda are set to face off for the upcoming Rally des Mille Colline to take place in Bugesera district on 28th November 2020.

Rallye des Milles Collines which usually takes place in Eastern Province used to mark the end of Rallye championships calendar which was canceled due to COVID-19 pandemic.

The Saturday Rallye is organized in memory of Derrick ‘Denzel Nshuti, one of Rallye fans who passed on at the beginning of this year.

Top aces to participate in the Rallye include Giancarlo Davite who won several championships in Rwanda, A Burundian Awan Din Imitiaz, Jean Claude Gakwaya among others.

Brian Murengezi, one of organizers of Rallye des Mille Collines to take place for the 37th time has told IGIHE that eight of ten participating cars are registered to Rwanda while the remaining two are respectively registered to Burundi and Uganda.

“The race will take place in Gako of Bugesera district. Two of ten participating cars are not from Rwanda but the number might increase. The race was organized in memory of Nshuti Derrick ‘Denzel,ba late fan of Rallye,” he said.

Participants in Rallye des Milles Collines 2020 will be facing off for 104 kilometers with laps in Gako, Nemba and Gasenyi roads.

Murengezi explained that they have collaborated with relevant partners including The Ministry of Health, Ministry of Sports and the Ministry of Local Governemnt to ensure the tournament complies with COVID-19 preventive measures.

"Fans are allowed to witness the tournament so long as they respect COVID-19 health guidelines including social distancing and wearing of face mask,” he said.

The race will be preceded by motorcycles motorcade.

10 cars confirmed to participate

Giancarlo Davite: Mitsubish Evo 10

Gakwaya Claude and Mugabo Claude :Subaru N10

Jean Jean na Shyaka Kevin:Toyota celica 4wd

Rutuku Mike and Kayitankore Lionel:Subaru Impreza Gc8

Mitralos and Pagani:Subaru N12

Uwadata Marius and Rutabingwa Ferdinand: Subaru Impreza Gc8

Adolphena Olivier muri Toyota Celica 2wd

Semana Geness and Jacques: Peugot 205 Gti

Awan Din Imitiaz and Hassan (Burundi): Toyota Avensis

Mwambazi (Uganda): Subaru Gc8

Jean Claude Gakwaya, the winner of 2019 championship is among participants in Rallye des Milles Collines 2020.